The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes

Hughes, Langston. [Edited by Rampersad, Arnold – Roessel, David]. The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes. New York: Random House, 1995. 717 pages. 1 Volume. Series: Vintage Books. Stated First Edition. 15,5 cm. x 23,5 cm. Softcover. Perfect binding. Condition: Fine.

isbn13: 0679764089


In stock

Product ID: 3548 SKU: SKU-0973 Category:

The Collected Poems of Langston Hughes, compiled by Langston Hughes and edited by Arnold Rampersad and David Roessel, is a comprehensive collection of Hughes’s poetry. The book contains 860 poems, including three hundred that have never before appeared in book form, arranged chronologically and featuring commentary by Hughes’s biographer. Langston Hughes (1902-1967), a central figure of the Harlem Renaissance and one of the most influential and esteemed writers of the twentieth century, was born in Joplin, Missouri, and spent much of his childhood in Kansas before moving to Harlem. His first book of poetry, The Weary Blues, was published in 1926 and helped him win a scholarship to Lincoln University in Pennsylvania, where he received his B.A. in 1929 and an honorary Litt.D. in 1943. Among his other awards were a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Rosenwald Fellowship, and a grant from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Hughes published more than thirty-five books, including works of poetry, short stories, novels, an autobiography, musicals, essays, and plays.

Dimensions 23,5 × 15,5 cm